Search This Blog

Loading...

Sunday, July 28, 2013

Review: Magic in the Blood by Devon Monk

 
Magic in the Blood (Allie Beckstorm #2)
By Devon Monk
Published May 5th 2009 by Roc
Genre Urban Fantasy
Received from library
 
About taken from Goodreads:
Working as a Hound-tracing illegal spells back to their casters-has taken its toll on Allison Beckstrom. But even though magic has given her migraines and stolen her recent memory, Allie isn't about to quit. Then the police's magic enforcement division asks her to consult on a missing persons case. But what seems to be a straightforward job turns out to be anything but, as Allie finds herself drawn into the underworld of criminals, ghosts, and blood magic.




This book starts right in where Magic to the Bone leaves off. I like that no time has past and it's just like turning a page and I don't feel like I have missed any part of Allie's life.
I really liked this book, but I was a little disappointed that there was not much Zayvion and Allie. We do see a few moments between them but having lost her memory of their relationship, Allie is still unsure about him. Zayvion pops in here and there but we really don't see much of him til the end. We do however find out a little more about Zayvion and who he works for. :)
As Allie takes a Hound job(identifying a spell and it's castor)with the police's magic enforcement division she is once again thrown in over her head and faced with death. She continues to learn more about magic and what is capable of. Allie is also brought into the circle of Hounds, a support group of sorts, and we meet other fun characters.

Magic In the Blood sucks you in and leaves you wanting more! Can't wait to start the next #3, Magic in the Shadows








Wednesday, May 1, 2013


Enchanted
by Alethea Kontis

Published May 8th 2012 by Harcourt Children's Books
Genre YA
Received from library

About taken from Goodreads:
It isn't easy being the rather overlooked and unhappy youngest sibling to sisters named for the other six days of the week. Sunday’s only comfort is writing stories, although what she writes has a terrible tendency to come true.

When Sunday meets an enchanted frog who asks about her stories, the two become friends. Soon that friendship deepens into something magical. One night Sunday kisses her frog goodbye and leaves, not realizing that her love has transformed him back into Rumbold, the crown prince of Arilland—and a man Sunday’s family despises.

The prince returns to his castle, intent on making Sunday fall in love with him as the man he is, not the frog he was. But Sunday is not so easy to woo. How can she feel such a strange, strong attraction for this prince she barely knows? And what twisted secrets lie hidden in his past - and hers?



This is a very cute and fun read! We find a little from many of our favorite fairy tales: the prince and the frog, house with looks of a shoe, fairy godmothers, a beanstalk, giant and many more. Yet Ms. Kontis has made them all her own. Lastly we have what we all love in fairy tales, a happily ever after. If you like to read fairy tales, then you must read this book and follow Sunday's adventurous story. I am excited to learn the stories will continue on to the other sisters. Next up will be Saturday Woodcutter. I also hope to read the story of Velius Morana, Duke of Cauchemar. Hope you enjoy this story as much as I have!

Hero (Woodcutter sisters #2) Expected publication: October 1st 2013 by Harcourt Books


Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Check out new trailer for Eternal Kiss of Darkness by Jeaniene Frost

Here is the new book trailer for Eternal Kiss of Darkness by Jeaniene Frost. May 15th though June 25th only, buy Eternal Kiss of Darkness in ebook for just $1.99! Eternal Kiss of Darkness won the Romantic Times Reviewers' Choice Award for Best Vampire Romance, as well as being a New York Times, USA Today, and international bestseller. Plus, in the limited-time ebook edition, get a sneak peak at the first three chapters of the upcoming Night Prince novel, Once Burned, available wherever books are sold June 26. Link to the trailer is here: http://youtu.be/vxiDLcSCP9g
http://jeanienefrost.com/2012/05/eternal-kiss-of-darkness-special-ebook-edition-and-contest/

Eternal Kiss of Darkness by Jeaniene Frost only $1.99

Description taken from Goodreads:

An immortal war has been brewing in the darkness . . . And now one woman has stumbled into the shadows.Chicago private investigator Kira Graceling should have just kept on walking. But her sense of duty refused to let her ignore the moans of pain coming from inside a warehouse just before dawn. Suddenly she finds herself in a world she's only imagined in her worst nightmares.

At the center is Mencheres, a breathtaking Master vampire who thought he'd seen it all. Then Kira appears, this fearless, beautiful . . . human who braved death to rescue him. Though he burns for her, keeping Kira in his world means risking her life. Yet sending her away is unthinkable.

But with danger closing in, Mencheres must choose either the woman he craves, or embracing the darkest magic to defeat an enemy bent on his eternal destruction


To celebrate the upcoming release of Once Burned, from now though June 25th, Jeaniene Frost's publisher is offering a special ebook edition of Eternal Kiss of Darkness for only $1.99! As some of you know, Eternal Kiss of Darkness won the Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award for Best Vampire Romance and it was a New York Times, USA Today, and international bestseller. Plus, in this limited-time discount edition, you can get a sneak peak at the entire first three chapters of Once Burned, available wherever books are sold June 26. http://jeanienefrost.com/2012/05/eternal-kiss-of-darkness-special-ebook-edition-and-contest/

Saturday, January 28, 2012

Review: Perfect Strangers by Rebecca Sinclair

Title: Perfect Strangers
Author: Rebecca Sinclair
Genre: Historical Romance
Format: ebook, 286 pages
Published:  June 9th 2011 by ePublishing Works
Source: Received for review
Buy It: Amazon

From Goodreads:
Gabrielle Carelton is one of Queen Elizabeth's most devoted ladies-in-waiting. But her loyalty is put to the test when Her Majesty commands her to marry Scotsman Collin Douglas. When Gabrielle is kidnapped by Collin's twin brother, not even Good Queen Bess can save her. Dubbed the Black Douglas, devilishly handsome Connor is known throughout the land for his magnificent feats of strength and cunning. But now he is in need of an heir. An English bride will bring peace to the warring nations and give him the son he craves. What he doesn't expect is a woman as passionate as she is proud and a desire that knows no boundaries. Set against the pageantry and savage splendor of 16th-century England and Scotland, here is the story of a man and a woman who begin as enemies and strangers and find a love that will triumph against all odds.

Queen Elizabeth of England has asked Gabrielle to marry the Scotsman, Colin Douglas, in order to help end an on going feud. Once Gabrielle has accepted her fate, she decides to just be glad she is not marring Colin's twin brother, Conner Douglas, aka the Black Douglas. 

On the other side of things, Conner has decided to steal his brother's bride. Mostly to get back at Colin for the past, but also in effort to make peace with the warring Maxwell clan and benefit with an heir in the process.

This book had adventure, kidnapping, love and love scenes. Gabrielle had low self-esteem and did not view herself very highly, mostly due to the Queen's put downs.  I liked how Connor builds her up and once he gets to know her, he becomes attracted to her for her kindness and passion. Ella is the stubborn, determined cousin and I wish the book would have had more about how her life continues in the closing but maybe we will see a book about her. I also felt the second love scene dragged on and I found myself skimming parts of it. Overall, I really enjoyed reading this book and I plan to read more books by Rebecca Sinclair. I give this book 4 of  5 stars!


You can find out more about Rebecca Sinclair and her books by visiting her website at: http://www.rebeccasinclair.com

Saturday, December 31, 2011

My Favorite Reads of 2011

I saw some other blogs listing their favorite reads of the year and I thought it was a good idea so I'm going to do the same. Unfortunately, I can not remember all the books I read this year so I will list the few that stood out to me (not all the books on my list were published in 2011).
For the year 2012, my goal is to keep a list of every book I read throughout the year and write a review for each one. 


Adult Books:











Young Adult Books


Thursday, December 8, 2011

Gift Card Giveaway Hop: Win a $10 Amazon Gift Card!


Welcome to The Gift Card Giveaway Hop hosted by I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and Attack of the Book

The Gift Card Giveaway Hop is just in time to help with with last minute holiday shopping!  This hop runs from Friday, December 9th to Tuesday, December 13th! 

Over 100 Blogs are each hosting a giveaway for a gift card.

MY GIVEAWAY!
$10 Amazon.com Gift Card!
One lucky winner will be emailed a $10 gift card from Amazon.com.  Open to anyone who can use a gift card sent from Amazon.com.






To Enter:
I am going to make this easy!  You only have to follow via GFC - Google Friends Connect! Please leave a post below with your e-mail so I can contact you if you win and that is your entry. A winner will be chosen by random.org. That is all you have to do to win, Good Luck!

Now check out all the other great book blogs offering gift cards!